Defend yourself against theft accusations in Maryland

Defend yourself against theft accusations in Maryland

If you’re accused of a theft, then you know that you could be facing
charges that may place you in jail. The kinds of fines and jail time you
could face depend on the value of the items you stole, if people were
injured and other various considerations.

Any
theft conviction can damage your reputation, making it harder to get jobs. Few employers
want to work with someone accused of stealing, especially if it was in
the form of fraud or stealing from the company itself. Whether you’ve
been accused of identity theft, credit card theft, employee theft, trespassing
or other crimes, it’s important to have a defense in place to protect
you against unlawful charges and accusations.

Consider this: When you steal less than $100 of merchandise or cash from
a business or person, you could go to jail for up to 90 days and be fined
up to $500. The crime is considered a misdemeanor. If you are involved
in a theft of $100,000 or more, that misdemeanor becomes a felony that
is punished with up to 25 years in prison and $25,000 in fines. Regardless
of your situation, you could be looking at jail time and fines well above the norm.

If this is the first time you’ve been accused of theft and you could
be convicted, you may want to work with someone to discuss your eligibility
for probation instead of having a conviction on your record. With probation,
you’ll be able to state that you never were convicted of a crime
on applications, help you get a job in the future. Our page has more information
on misdemeanors and felonies, so you can better understand your situation.