When caught for drunk driving alone, the penalties may not be that stiff.
They differ depending on many different factors, such as how many similar
charges you may have on your record. However, the charges can get to be
more harsh if you are also involved in an accident, and they go up even
higher if someone else is killed in that accident.
These laws are not mandated by the federal government, but work on a state-by-state
basis. According to Mothers Against Drunk Drivers, or MADD, the approximate
sentence that one would get for a deadly DUI crash in Maryland ranges
from zero to five years. This is an estimate, so sentences have been given
out that do not fall into this range, but it still gives you a rough idea
of what is expected.
As you can see by looking at some of the other states, the penalties in
Maryland actually are not that harsh. For example, if the same thing happened
in Indiana, the estimated charges range from 2 to 20 years. In Washington
D.C., the low end is still zero years, but the charges could range all
the way up to 30 years. Some of the harshest laws in the country are in
Tennessee, where the range starts at eight years and goes all the way
up to 60 years.
Not only do you want to know what charges you could face after a DUI crash,
but you need to know what legal options you have, and we hope you’ll
check out our page to learn more about them today.