Protect yourself against underage drinking charges in Maryland

Protect yourself against underage drinking charges in Maryland

You’re young, and going to parties or hanging out with older friends
can be a lot of fun. Unfortunately, if you’re drinking and you’re
underage, you’ve put yourself at risk. There are few cases where
a minor drinking alcohol won’t be pursued by the authorities. If
you’re caught with even trace amounts of alcohol in your blood,
you could be in a lot of trouble with the law.

If you’re stopped and a breathalyzer shows you’ve been drinking,
you could be arrested on the spot. It’s illegal for those under
21 to possess or drink alcohol in Maryland. You can have a blood alcohol
content level of up to 0.02 percent before you can get in trouble, but
if you register above that amount, then you can be charged with underage drinking.

If you’ve been driving and are stopped with a BAC of 0.02 or higher,
you can be charged with a DUI. For minors, 0.02 percent is illegal, even
though the
legal limit for adults is 0.08 percent. In this situation, you can be charged, and
possibly convicted, of drunk driving.

You don’t need to be intimidated when you come into contact with
the police. You don’t need to admit to drinking to an officer, because
doing so may lead to criminal charges that could stay on your record for
a lifetime. You don’t have to answer questions or provide incriminating
information to the police without a lawyer present. Our website has more
information on what you can do in this situation and what you can do if
you’ve been charged with a DUI or
underage drinking.