Laws and penalties for marijuana possession in Maryland

Laws and penalties for marijuana possession in Maryland

The legalization of marijuana has been a hot topic across the country for
the last several years. While there are currently only two states that
have legalized marijuana for recreational use (Washington and Colorado),
other states have decriminalized the possession of small amounts of the
drug. Maryland is one of those states.

In Maryland, the possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana is not a criminal
offense. You cannot be arrested, but you can be fined for it. The first
time a person is caught, the fine is $100. The second time, it is $250.
There are criminal penalties, though, for possessing over 10 grams of
marijuana.

For those charged with possessing more than 10 grams up to 50 pounds of
marijuana without the intent to distribute the drug, the penalty is a
fine of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to one year. This is a
misdemeanor.

The really stiff penalties come for those who are convicted of possessing
marijuana with the intent to distribute. A conviction of possession with
the intent to distribute less than 50 pounds carries a possible fine of
up to $15,000 and a prison term of up to 5 years. With a conviction of
possession with the intent to distribute more than 50 pounds, the penalty
is to not less than five years in prison.

There are more penalties if a person is arrested within 1,000 feet of a
school, for those with previous convictions for
possession with intent to distribute, for being a “drug kingpin,” and for using a minor to distribute,
deliver or manufacture marijuana.

Because of the complexities that marijuana possession cases can present,
those charged with such crimes can benefit from the advice of an experienced
Maryland criminal defense attorney.

Source: Norml.org, “Maryland Laws & Penalties” Nov. 25, 2014