Sex crimes and the Sex Offender Registration and Notifcation Act

Sex crimes and the Sex Offender Registration and Notifcation Act

Understanding the federal Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act
is important if you have been charged with a sex crime. This act, which
was passed in 2006 and is Title I of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and
Safety Act. This act provides the basis for conformity among the nation’s
states when it comes to various factors of sex offender registration regulations.

Some of the aspects of this act include listing what information must be
collected from those placed on a state’s
sex offender registry, how long the person’s name will be on that list, verification of
the information, who will have access to the information and what the
penalties are for not registering.

While SORNA was passed in 2006, the final guidelines were not put into
effect until 2008. This was after the guidelines were released and the
public had time to comment on them.

According to SORNA, there are three tiers of sex offenders. The length
of time a sex offender may be required to register depends on the how
the sex crime is classified. Tier III offenses require a lifetime registration.
Tier II offenses require 25 years. Tier II offenses require 15 years.
While these are only considered guidelines for the state’s implementation
of a sexual offender registry, many states, including Maryland, had to
revamp their current registry guidelines to meet the federal guidelines.

If the states did not meet the guidelines, they could have lost 10 percent
of Byrne grants. These are used to pay for anti-gang units, drug task
forces and other police activities.

If you have been charged with a sex crime in Maryland, it’s important
to know how this federal act would affect you if you were convicted. An
experienced attorney can provide more information, as well as helping
to create a defense strategy.